New Ergonomist of the Year Award

For an early career ergonomist/human factors professional who has demonstrated excellence in their work

Who's the rising star?

Do you work with someone who has completed their highest human factors qualification within the last six years and whose practical talents now shine through? They could be becoming a leader in the organisation, or be someone who is already mentoring others and seem like they have a great future ahead. Or they could be exceptional in a different way, such as putting together bespoke solutions to clients’ problems and advancing new practice within the organisation.

Recent winners have come from many different sectors and have been described as “professional”, “exceptional” and “highly skilled”. If they're enthusiastic, talented and really stand out, give their career a boost and let them know how much you think of their talents by nominating them for this award.


  1. The nominee must be a member of the CIEHF.
  2. They must be an early career ergonomist/human factors professional and have completed their highest ergonomics/human factors qualification within the last 6 years (with adjustment for maternity/paternity/carer leave where required).
  3. The nominee must have demonstrated excellence in the quality of the ergonomics/human factors work that they have delivered in either an academic or industrial setting.
  4. This can be measured by examples which may include reports, client recommendations, reviewer comments and academic outputs.
  5. The nominee is expected to have references which indicate their potential as a future leader in ergonomics/human factors.
  6. A maximum two-page citation in support of the nominee should be submitted as part of the nomination.
  7. The candidate will normally be expected to be nominated by a Registered Member or Fellow of the CIEHF.


This year's winner

Our New Ergonomist of the Year Award winner 2024 is Patrick Ellis. He has five years of cross-sector human factors consultancy experience within high-hazard industries, including rail and nuclear. In his recent role of Workstream Lead for Commissioning within the nuclear sector, he played a pivotal role in developing the strategy for the integration of human factors during plant commissioning. Well done, Patrick!

Origins of the award

This was formerly the Hywel Murrell Award.

K F H Murrell was born in 1908 and graduated in chemistry. He worked in the Army OR Group during the war, and later with the Admiralty. In 1948 he became head of the Naval Motion Study Unit and in 1949 invited a small group of like-minded people who had experienced human factors research, and had met US people with similar experiences, to a meeting to discuss a more formal group. From this meeting the Ergonomics Research Society was later formed, Hywel Murrell coining the term 'ergonomics' at the time.

In the early 1950s he formed the ergonomics department of Tube Investments Ltd, the first such department in industry, and in 1954 moved to Bristol University to lead a group on skill and ageing. In 1963 he moved again, to the then Welsh College of Advanced Technology, later the University of Wales Institute of Science and Technology, where he became Professor of Psychology and headed the Department of Occupational (later Applied) Psychology until his retirement in 1975. Hywel died in 1984

He was particularly interested in skill development and use, in ageing and in fatigue, and in the application of psychology and ergonomics to practical matters. He produced the first textbook on ergonomics in the UK and worked with standards bodies, trades unions and managements in the dissemination of ergonomics.

This award was set up in recognition of Hywel's pioneering work.

Roll of honour

2023 Payam Khanlari

2022 Rob Becker
2021 Lucy Crabb
2020 Zoe Cooper
2019 Lizzie Rawlinson
2018 Nu'maan Kala
2017 Sam Waters
2016 Marie Davis
2015 Brendan Hazlett
2014 Eleanor Mowbray
2013 Alex Lloyd
2012 Ryan Meeks
2011 Simon Grantham
2010 Cara Pilcher
2009 Not awarded
2008 Not awarded
2007 Catherine Cooper
2006 Louise Stokes
2005 A Eldred
2004 J Barratt
2003 Naomi Ducat
2002 Paul Grimsley
2001 Charlotte Brace
2000 Elizabeth A Hoodless
1999 A E Humpherson
1998 Michael Ebdon
1997 Jane E Mechan, University of Northumbria at Newcastle
1996 Marc McNeill, Loughborough University of Technology
1995 Wayne Judd, Loughborough University of Technology
1994 Josey Bonnet, University of Nottingham
1993 Gayna Williams, Loughborough University of Technology
1991 Pauline Johnstone, Nottingham University
1989 Susan M Joyner, Loughborough University of Technology
1987 Rachael M Browne, University of Aston
1986 Suzy J Hill, Loughborough University of Technology
1985 Patrick H R Beasley, University of Surrey
1984 Joan B Butler, Aston University
1983 Yvonne Rogers, Department of Psychology, University College of Swansea
1982 Alistair S Robertson, University of Durham
1979 Anthony D B Evans, Liverpool Polytechnic
1977 Sackville J Currie, Loughborough University of Technology