LIfetime Achievement Award for Academic Research

For publication of a significant body of peer-reviewed research

Who's made some great discoveries?

Who is that person whose research you’ve looked up to for years? Whose articles you always read? Whose books you always buy? Many of us have people in our careers who have inspired us and may even have changed the direction of our own work. Now’s the time to show that person how much they’re appreciated, by nominating them for the CIEHF Lifetime Achievement Award for Outstanding Scientific Research.

Past winners include famous names, such as Professor John Wilson, and researchers from across human factors sectors as diverse as healthcare, technology, defence and biomechanics. Enable your academic hero to take their place in this illustrious list!


  1. This award is for any individual who has published a significant body of peer-reviewed research that has advanced the state of knowledge in any area of ergonomics and human factors.
  2. It is awarded for major contributions to research and scholarship, which are usually internationally as well as nationally recognised.


This year's winner

The winner of our Lifetime Achievement Award for Academic Research 2024 is Professor George Havenith. Based at Loughborough University, he’s had a leading role in projects including temperature limits of machinery, clothing insulation and an index used widely in Climate Change research. He's made outstanding contributions to academia during his 35-plus-year career and his extensive publication record, supervision of almost 20 PhD students, role as Journal Editor, and Dean at the University is testament to his academic success.

Origins of the award

This was formerly the Sir Frederic Bartlett Award.

Sir Frederic Bartlett was born in 1886 and graduated MA in Sociology and Ethics from London University, from where he went to St John’s College, Cambridge where he graduated in Moral Science. Remaining at St Johns for the rest of his life, he was appointed Reader and Director of the Cambridge Psychological Laboratory in 1922. In 1931 he was appointed to a new Chair of Experimental Psychology, and to the Royal Society in 1932.

Stimulated by practical problems, he was instrumental in the setting up of the MRC Applied Psychology Research Unit in 1944, to study problems in flight, naval warfare and artillery operations. His scientific studies moved from descriptive to experimental psychology, with pioneering studies in perception and remembering, and then embraced ergonomics when it was in its infancy, welcoming its holistic approach to designing machines for people to use.

He was knighted in 1948 for services to the Royal Air Force. He remained actively interested in experimental psychology and ergonomics, and consultant to the MRC Unit, until his death in 1969. This award was set up in his memory.

Roll of honour

2023 Peter Hancock

2022 Alireza Choobineh
2021 Raja Parasuraman
2019 Sue Hignett
2018 Jim Potvin
2017 Roger Haslam
2016 Ken Catchpole
2013 Chris Baber
2012 Neville Stanton
2010 Christine Haslegrave
2009 Jerry Williams
2007 Robert J Stone
2005 K Cooke & P Stanley
2001 Peter Buckle
2000 Peter Hancock
1997 Prof Shrawan Kumar, University of Alberta
1996 Prof Malcolm H Pope, University of Iowa
1995 Prof John R Wilson, Nottingham University
1994 Prof Emeritus Tom Singleton, Aston University
1993 Prof Emeritus Brian Shackel, Loughborough University of Technology
1992 The Human Factors in Information Technology team of the HUSAT Institute
1989 Dr John B Long, Director, Ergonomics Unit, University of London
1988 Human Factors Division, British Telecom Laboratories
1987 Human Sciences and Advanced Technology Institute (HUSAT)
1985 Dr Kenneth D Eason
1984 Dr Michael J Griffin, Sound and Vibration Research Institute at Southampton University
1983 Geoffrey C Simpson, on behalf of the Ergonomics Branch of the Institute of Occupational Medicine, National Coal Board
1982 Dr Donald W Grieve and Dr Stephen T Pheasant
1981 Dr Colin G Drury
1979 Dr Patricia A M Wright
1978 Dr Edward J Lovesey
1977 The Human Factors Department, British Steel Corporation
1976 Dr E A (Lisanne) Bainbridge
1975 The Institute for Consumer Ergonomics; Prof N Stuart Kirk, Director of the Institute; Robert J Feeney, Deputy Director; Mrs Joan S Ward, formerly Assistant Director
1974 Prof Dr-Ing Walter Rohmert
1971 Dr R Conrad